Facebook Twitter LinkedIn
Board of Directors
Board of Directors
Policy Fellows
Institutes & Affiliates
1130 K Street, Suite 280, Sacramento, CA, 95814-3965, (916) 492-0996
Support CCST


Charles F. Kennel (Board Chair)
Scripps Institution of Oceanography
UC San Diego
Bruce Alberts
UC San Francisco
Jeffrey Armstrong
California Polytechnic State University SLO
Ann Arvin
Stanford University
Bruce B. Darling
National Academy of Sciences
National Research Council
Dori Ellis
Sandia California
Richard C. Flagan
Susan Hackwood (Executive Director)
Charles E. Harper
Jariet Technologies
Lisa Rossbacher
Humboldt State University
Judith Swain (Council Vice Chair)
Physiowave, LLC
James Sweeney
Stanford University
Van Ton-Quinlivan
California Community Colleges
Samuel Traina
UC Merced
Eugene Tu
NASA Liaison
Paul C. Jennings

CCST Board Member
Paul C. Jennings

Professor Emeritus, Department of Civil Engineering and Applied Mechanics, California Institute of Technology

Jennings is Professor Emeritus in the Department of Civil Engineering and Applied Mechanics, California Institute of Technology. He served as Chairman of the Division of Engineering and Applied Science from 1985 to 1989 and as Caltech's Vice President and Provost between 1989-95. Later he served twice as Acting Vice President for Business and Finance and once again as Provost from 2005 to 2007. He was a member of the Board of Directors of Enresco, Inc., in Colorado Springs and served two years on the Teaching Staff at the US Air Force Academy, Department of Mechanics.

Jennings served as a member of the CCST Council from 1995-2002, including a term as Council Chair. He is a member of the National Academy of Engineering, past President of the Seismological Society of America, and past President of the Earthquake Engineering Research Institute. He is the author of numerous technical papers on earthquake engineering and dynamics of structures and has served as earthquake engineering consultant on the design of high-rise buildings, offshore drilling towers, nuclear power plants, and other major projects. A member of ASCE, he is past Chairman of the Executive Committee of the Engineering Mechanics Division and served a term as chairman of the Structural Dynamics Committee. He has studied earthquake damage in various parts of the world and was co-editor of the Engineering Volume of the National Academy of Sciences report on the great Alaska earthquake of 1964.

He was a member of the Board of Inquiry on the Loma Prieta earthquake appointed by Governor Deukmejian and is chair of the City Hall Oversight Committee for the seismic rehabilitation of Pasadena City Hall. He has received the Newmark Medal, the Huber Prize of the American Society of Civil Engineers, and the Honor Alumnus and the Achievement in Academic Awards from his undergraduate alma mater, Colorado State University. He is a member of the American Society of Civil Engineers, the Seismological Society of America, the Structural Engineers Association of California, the American Geophysical Union, and the American Society for Engineering Education.

He stepped down from the CCST Board in 2016.

Updated 7/7/16