Password protected areas

CCST Council
Stephen D. Rockwood

Executive Vice President and Director, retired
Science Applications International Corporation (SAIC)

Stephen Rockwood is an executive vice president and a former member of the board of directors of Science Applications International Corporation (SAIC). He has over 35 years experience leading scientific research activities including the direction of technical projects, as well as the formulation and analysis of national science policy issues.

After serving as a captain in the U.S. Air Force supporting laser weapons research and anti-ballistic missile programs, he accumulated 15 years of experience within the DOE nuclear weapons laboratory system at Los Alamos National Laboratory leading research activities in laser development, isotope separation, fusion energy, computational sciences and nuclear science. His last position for Los Alamos was as the associate director for Defense Research Programs responsible for over $350M in program activity with 2,500 people.

For the last 19 years, Dr. Rockwood has held executive positions with SAIC. This included management responsibility for line organizations, with a focus on R&D activities, consisting of more than 8,000 staff members performing work on various government and commercial contracts totaling approximately $1B in annual sales. He continues to serve as a senior executive for the company's 1,800 person subsidiary providing research support the National Cancer Institute.

Rockwood has also held corporate responsibility for directing the company's internal Research and Development programs, ethics programs and the Technical Environment Committee.

In addition, Dr. Rockwood participates as a member of numerous advisory committees involving industry, academia and government agencies.

Rockwood attended Grinnell College where he received a B.S. in physics and mathematics in 1965. He then studied at the California Institute of Technology, receiving a M.S. in physics in 1967 and a Ph.D. in physics in 1970.

Chair and Vice Chair:
Council Members: