Facebook Twitter LinkedIn
Board of Directors
Board of Directors
Policy Fellows
Institutes & Affiliates
1130 K Street, Suite 280, Sacramento, CA, 95814-3965, (916) 492-0996
Support CCST


Corey Goodman (Council Chair)
venBio Partners, LLC
Judith Swain (Council Vice Chair)
National University of Singapore
Lori Bettison-Varga
Natural History Museum
Peter Cowhey
UC San Diego
Dona Crawford
Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory
Jeff Dozier
UC Santa Barbara
Ziyad "Zee" Duron
Harvey Mudd College
Susan Hackwood (Executive Director) CCST
Bryan Hannegan
Holy Cross Energy
Susan Hubbard
Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
Michael Kavanaugh
Geosyntec Consultants, Inc.
Regis Kelly
QB3 Institute
Charles Kolstad
Stanford University
Patrick Lee
Sempra Energy
Henry Lester
California Institute of Technology
Terry Lewis
Independent Contractor and Consultant
Jane Long
Climate Strategist
Amber Mace
Michael Norman
San Diego Supercomputer Center
Prasad Ram
Steven Schroeder
Linda Dairiki Shortliffe, MD
Stanford University
Soroosh Sorooshian
UC Irvine
Dan Sperling
UC Davis
James L. Sweeney
Stanford University
Joseph Walkush
Science Applications International Corporation
Yulun Wang
InTouch Health
James L. Sweeney

CCST Council Member
James L. Sweeney

Director, Precourt Center; Professor of Management Science & Engineering, Senior Fellow at Precourt Center and at the Stanford Institute for Economic Policy Research and, by courtesy, at the Hoover Institution

James (Jim) Sweeney is the director and founder of Stanford University's Precourt Energy Efficiency Center and a professor of management science and engineering. His professional activities focus on economic policy and analysis, particularly in energy, natural resources, and the environment, currently concentrating on energy efficiency in the U.S. He is a senior fellow of the U.S. Association for Energy Economics, California Council on Science & Technology, Hoover Institution, Precourt Institute for Energy, and Stanford Institute for Economic Policy Research.

At Stanford he has served as Director of the Energy Modeling Forum, Chairman of the Institute for Energy Studies, and Director of the Center for Economic Policy Research (now Stanford Institute for Economic Policy Research). He is a member of the external advisory council of the National Renewable Energy Laboratory and of the California Energy Commission's Petroleum Market Advisory Committee. He was a founding member of the International Association for Energy Economics and has been a member of numerous committees of the National Research Council.

With Alan Kneese, he was editor of the three volume North Holland Handbook of Natural Resource and Energy Economics. Jim is the author of The California Electricity Crisis, an analytical history of with California's electricity restructuring and subsequent crisis. His book, Energy Efficiency: Building a Clean, Secure Economy, has just been published by Hoover Institution Press. Jim earned his bachelor's degree from MIT in electrical engineering and his PhD from Stanford in engineering-economic systems.

He served a term on the Council from 2007-10, and was reappointed in 2017.

Updated 1/13/17