Facebook Twitter LinkedIn
Board of Directors
Council
Board of Directors
CalTAC
Policy Fellows
Institutes & Affiliates
Staff
LOGIN
Board/Council
Staff
1130 K Street, Suite 280, Sacramento, CA, 95814-3965, (916) 492-0996
Support CCST

STAFF DIRECTORY

Susan Hackwood (Executive Director)
hackwood@ccst.us
Sarah Brady
Senior Program Associate
sarah.brady@ccst.us
Doug Brown
Project Director, CCST Science and Technology Policy Fellowships
doug@ccst.us
Pat Callahan
Major Gifts Officer
patc@ccst.us
M. Daniel DeCillis
Senior Research Associate & Director of Web Operations
decillis@ccst.us
Donna King
Accountant & Senior Program Coordinator
donna@ccst.us
Brie Lindsey
Senior Program Associate
brie.lindsey@ccst.us
Amber Mace
Deputy Director
ambermace@ccst.us
Annie Morgan
Program Manager, CCST Science and Technology Policy Fellowships
annie@ccst.us
Shannon Muir
Senior Program Associate
shannon.muir@ccst.us
Christy Shay
Executive Assistant
christy@ccst.us
Amber Mace

Amber Mace

CCST Deputy Director

ambermace@ccst.us
(916) 492-0996

Amber Mace, PhD is Deputy Director of the California Council on Science and Technology (CCST) and is a Policy Fellow with the UC Davis Policy Institute for Energy, Environment and the Economy. Mace devotes her time to building new and revitalizing existing programs and organizations that are dedicated to increasing the impact and value of science-informed decision-making.

Prior to this, Mace served as the Associate Director of the UC Davis Policy Institute for Energy, Environment and the Economy. She also served as the executive director of the California Ocean Protection Council (OPC) and assistant secretary for coastal matters at the California Natural Resources Agency. In this role she applied her background in ocean policy and marine ecology and collaborative leadership skills to guide the state in developing policies that promote the sustainable use of California’s ocean ecosystem. Prior to that, she served in the dual roles of science advisor to the OPC and executive director of the California Ocean Science Trust, a non-profit whose mission is to provide objective, high-quality science to decision makers.

She learned firsthand about the challenges of public policy-making at the federal level as a Knauss Fellow in the U.S. Senate Commerce, Science and Transportation Committee, and at the state level as a California Sea Grant state fellow at the California Natural Resources Agency. Amber was recognized as a Coastal Hero by Sunset magazine in 2011 and her California coastal research experience includes piloting a submersible with the Sustainable Seas Expedition. She earned a bachelor of arts in geography from UC Berkeley and a doctorate in ecology from UC Davis and the Bodega Marine Laboratory.

Updated 9/28/16
COPYRIGHT © 2003-2017, CALIFORNIA COUNCIL ON SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.