Facebook Twitter LinkedIn
Board of Directors
Board of Directors
Policy Fellows
Institutes & Affiliates
1130 K Street, Suite 280, Sacramento, CA, 95814-3965, (916) 492-0996
Support CCST


James L. Sweeney (Council Chair)
Stanford University
Judith Swain (Council Vice Chair)
Physiowave, LLC
Lori Bettison-Varga
Natural History Museum
Dona Crawford
Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory
Jeff Dozier
UC Santa Barbara
Ziyad "Zee" Duron
Harvey Mudd College
Susan Hackwood (Executive Director) CCST
Bryan Hannegan
Holy Cross Energy
Susan Hubbard
Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
Michael Kavanaugh
Geosyntec Consultants, Inc.
Regis Kelly
QB3 Institute
Charles Kolstad
Stanford University
Patrick Lee
Sempra Energy
Henry Lester
California Institute of Technology
Jane Long
Climate Strategist
Amber Mace
Judy C. Miner
California Community College
Michael Norman
San Diego Supercomputer Center
Rob Oglesby
Prasad Ram
Steven Schroeder
Linda Dairiki Shortliffe, MD
Stanford University
Dan Sperling
UC Davis
Joseph Walkush
Science Applications International Corporation
Yulun Wang
InTouch Health
Jessica Westbrook
Sandia National Laboratory
Steven Zornetzer
Soroosh Sorooshian

CCST Senior Fellow
Soroosh Sorooshian

Distinguished Professor, Civil and Environmental Engineering & Earth Science; Director, Center for Hydrometeorology and Remote Sensing, University of California Irvine

Dr. Sorooshian's research focuses on surface hydrology, primarily in the area of rainfall-runoff modeling. He has devoted much of his effort to model identification and calibration issues and has developed special estimation criteria to account for the uncertainties of calibration data. Other research interests include the application of remote sensing data for characterization of hydrologic parameters and fluxes and the implication of climate variability and change in water resources. He also consults on problems related to surface hydrology and flood forecasting.

Dr. Sorooshian is a member of the National Academy of Engineering (NAE); Corresponding Member, International Academy of Astronautics (IAA); Fellow, American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS); Fellow, American Geophysical Union (AGU); Fellow, American Meteorological Society (AMS); Fellow, International Water Resources Association (IWRA); Member, Joint Scientific Committee (JSC) of the World Climate Research Programme (WCRP; Past Chair, Science Steering Group (SSG) of Global Energy and Water Cycle Experiment (GEWEX) of the World Climate Research Programme (WCRP); Member, UCAR Board of Trustees; Past-President of AGU's Hydrology Section; member of seven editorial boards and former editor of AGU's Water Resources Research; Emeritus Member, NOAA Science Advisory Board; U.S. Member of the Hydrology Commission for WMO. He has served on numerous advisory committees, including those of NRC, NASA, NOAA, NSF, EPA, and UNESCO.

Among his recent honors are: Robert Horton Medalist, American Geophysical Union (AGU), 2013; Recipient of the 4th Prince Sultan Bin Abdulaziz International Prize for Water Resources Management & Protection in 2010; Eagleson lectureship, Consortium of Universities for the Advancement of Hydrologic Science (CUAHSI), named an honorary Professor at Beijing Normal University, China; and Fellow TWAS, The Academy of Sciences for developing countries. Professor Sorooshian delivered the William Nordberg Memorial Lecture at the Goddard Scientific Colloquium in 2004, and he is the recipient of the NASA Distinguished Public Service Medal, 2005 - "For your distinguished record in providing scientific leadership for global water cycle research and assuring that NASA science is well integrated into international programs."

In 2007, the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) named the Center for Hydrometeorology and Remote Sensing (CHRS) at UC Irvine and the National Science Foundation Science and Technology Center for Sustainability of Semi-arid Hydrology and Riparian Areas (SAHRA) at the University of Arizona joint winners of the 2007 Great Man-Made River International Water Prize. This is the first time it has been awarded to U.S. institutions. Sorooshian was the founding director of both research centers.

He was appointed to the Council in 2009. In 2018 he stepped down and was named a CCST Senior Fellow.

Updated 1/10/18