Password protected areas

Senior Fellows
George M. Scalise
President, Semiconductor Industry Association

Areas of Interest:

international trade, funding basic research at U.S. universities, export controls

Scalise is president of the Semiconductor Industry Association (SIA) where he directs a staff focused on International Trade & Government Affairs, Workforce, Technology, Environmental Safety & Health, and Communications. He came to the SIA from Apple Computer, where he served as executive vice president of operations. Prior to that, he held executive management positions at National Semiconductor, Maxtor Corporation, Advanced Micro Devices, Fairchild Semiconductor and Motorola Semiconductor.

A graduate of Purdue University with a B.S. in mechanical engineering, Scalise is a highly respected technology industry spokesperson and carries a special interest and expertise in international trade and competition issues. He was a founding member of the Semiconductor Research Corporation, an industry-funded organization that provides resources for pre-competitive semiconductor research at American universities. He was awarded the Distinguished Engineering Alumni Award from Purdue in 2002.

Scalise currently serves on President Bush's Council of Advisors on Science and Technology as well as numerous boards, including the Federal Reserve Bank of San Francisco where he is deputy chairman, Cadence Design Systems, and iSuppli Corporation. He served on the boards of SEMATECH, Semiconductor Research Corporation, the Bay Area Economic Forum, and the Council on Foreign Relations Economic Task Force on Japan. He participates on advisory committees at the Leavey School of Business, Santa Clara University; School of Engineering, USC; and the Engineering Visiting Committee, Purdue University. He served on the California Council on Science and Technology, 1996-2002. He was also a member of the Joint High-Level Advisory Panel of the United States-Israel Science and Technology Commission and chaired the Secretary of Energy Advisory Board, US Department of Energy.

Senior Fellows Roster