Password protected areas

Senior Fellows
Henry T. Yang
Chancellor and Professor of Mechanical Engineering, University of California, Santa Barbara

Areas of Interest:

aerospace engineering (structural dynamics and materials), earthquake engineering, manufacturing engineering (intelligent manufacturing systems)

Dr. Yang has served as the chancellor of the University of California, Santa Barbara since 1994. He is also a professor of mechanical engineering at UC Santa Barbara. Formerly, he was the Neil Armstrong Distinguished Professor of Aeronautics and Astronautics and the dean of engineering for ten years at Purdue University. He served on the California Council on Science and Technology Board of Directors until 2003.

Dr. Yang is a member of the National Academy of Engineering and a Fellow of AIAA, ASEE, and ASME. He has received a number of recognitions for his research, teaching, and public service, including seven honorary doctorates and the Benjamin Garver Lamme Medal from the American Society of Engineering Education. In 2008 he received the Structures, Structural Dynamics, and Materials Award from the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics. He has also received 13 best teaching awards.

Dr. Yang has authored one book and 175 journal papers. He has served on scientific advisory boards for the Department of Defense, U.S. Air Force, U.S. Navy, NASA, and National Science Foundation. He is the current chair of the Association of Pacific Rim Universities, and a past chair of the Association of American Universities. He serves on the President's Committee for the National Medal of Science and the Kavli Foundation board, and is chairman of the board for the Thirty Meter Telescope project.

Senior Fellows Roster