Facebook Twitter LinkedIn
Board of Directors
Board of Directors
Policy Fellows
Institutes & Affiliates
1130 K Street, Suite 280, Sacramento, CA, 95814-3965, (916) 492-0996
Support CCST
Julie Meier Wright
Former Council member Julie Meier Wright, who also served CCST as a strategic consultant, is one of the seven new Senior Fellows appointed.

CCST Appoints Seven New Senior Fellows

By M. DANIEL DECILLIS | Mar. 28, 2017

CCST has appointed seven new members to its roster of Senior Fellows, expanding the scope of this distinguished network of scholars and experts and honoring their long-standing commitments to science and technology in California.

"The Senior Fellows serve as a tremendous resource for CCST," said CCST Executive Director Susan Hackwood. "We draw on their knowledge and experience both to produce the best possible analyses and to help share the results of these analyses with the right people at all levels of the State."

The Senior Fellows Program is designed to help CCST tap into the most relevant expertise for any given area of analysis. The network of 138 scientists and technical experts, all distinguished members of their respective fields, helps provide CCST with the knowledge base necessary to fulfill its mandate. The relationship of Senior Fellows with CCST parallels that of the Members of the National Academy of Sciences with the National Academies: Senior Fellows work with CCST to provide politically neutral, expert advice and analyses.

The newly appointed Senior Fellows include many people with longstanding involvement with CCST:

  • Warren Baker, President Emeritus, California Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo
  • Jens Birkholzer, Divison Director, Energy Geosciences Division, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
  • George Blumenthal, Chancellor, University of California Santa Cruz
  • Julie Meier Wright, Former Secretary of Trade & Commerce and Retired President & CEO, San Diego Regional Economic Development Corporation
  • Karl Pister, Chancellor Emeritus, University of California Santa Cruz
  • Jeffrey Rudolph, President and CEO, Californai Science Center
  • Robert F. Sawyer, University of California Berkeley

    Several of the newly appointed Senior Fellows have already dedicated years of service to CCST in different capacities, most notably Karl Pister, who served as CCST Board Chair for 21 years. Warren Baker is also a former CCST Board member; George Blumenthal, Julie Meier Wright, and Jeffrey Rudolph have previously served on the CCST Council.

    "We look forward to working with all our new Senior Fellows, both those who have served with CCST before and those who are new to us," said Hackwood. "We're thankful for their dedication in helping us to make California stronger with science."

    M. Daniel DeCillis, PhD is the Spotlight editor and a Senior Research Associate at the California Council on Science and Technology.

    The California Council on Science and Technology (CCST) is a nonpartisan, not-for-profit organization established via the California State Assembly - making California's policies stronger with science since 1988. CCST provides California's Executive and Legislative Branches with independent scientific advice, convening a diverse network of expertise spanning California's public and private universities, community colleges, and Federal research laboratories.

    Follow CCST on Facebook, on Twitter, and on LinkedIn.