CCST Staff
Susan Hackwood

Susan Hackwood

Executive Director
(951) 682-8701

Susan Hackwood is currently CCST Executive Director, and Professor of Electrical Engineering at the University of California, Riverside. Dr. Hackwood received a Ph.D. in Solid State Ionics in 1979 from DeMontfort University, UK, at age 24. Before joining academia, she was Department Head of Device Robotics Technology Research at AT&T Bell Labs, where amongst other things, she invented and named the electrowetting effect, now used in many micro devices and continuing to be researched and utilized in an increasing number of applications. In 1984 she joined the University of California, Santa Barbara as Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering and was founder and Director of the National Science Foundation Engineering Research Center for Robotic Systems in Microelectronics (CRSM).

In 1990, Dr. Hackwood became the founding Dean of the Bourns College of Engineering at the University of California, Riverside, and the first woman dean of a major research university in the US. At UCR, she founded the Center for Environmental Research Technology, established the first multimedia laboratory on campus, pioneered research in swarm intelligence technologies, oversaw the development of several buildings and all research and teaching aspects of five degree programs to the Ph.D. level. Dr. Hackwood's current interests include science and technology policy, innovation mechanisms, distributed asynchronous and cellular robotic systems. Dr. Hackwood has published over 150 technical publications and holds seven patents. She is a Fellow of the IEEE and the AAAS and holds honorary degrees from Worcester Polytechnic Institute (PhD) and DeMontfort University, UK (DSc). From 2003-5 she was a Visiting Scholar at the Anderson School of Management, University of California, Los Angeles. In 2005 she was a visiting scholar at the California Institute of Technology.

Dr. Hackwood has worked extensively with industry, academia and government partnerships to identify policy issues of societal importance. She is also an active participant in regional and state economic development. With a strong interest in science and technology policy, Dr. Hackwood is involved with science and technology development in California, the U.S., Mexico, Taiwan, Vietnam and Costa Rica. She is the past Chair of the AAAS Committee on Science Engineering and Public Policy and was Chair of the Section on Societal Impacts of Science and Engineering. She has been the AAAS Engineering Delegate and is currently a Member of the AAAS Committee on Nominations. Since 2006 she has been a member of the IEEE Spectrum Editorial Board. She serves on the Board of Directors and consults on new product development for several technology companies. She co-founded and co-edited the Journal of Robotic Systems from 1984 to 2005.

As CCST Executive Director, she holds a nonvoting seat on both the Board of Directors and the Council.

Updated 3/7/14

Staff Directory

Susan Hackwood (Executive Director)
Hilary Ahearn
Program Assistant, CCST Science and Technology Policy Fellowships
(916) 492-0996
Doug Brown
Project Director, CCST Science and Technology Policy Fellowships
(916) 492-0996
Randy Chinn
Program Advisor, CCST Science and Technology Policy Fellowships
(916) 492-0996
M. Daniel DeCillis
Senior Research Associate & Director of Web Operations
(951) 824-6315
Angela Phillips Diaz
Washington Liaison for Education, Science, and Technology
Sierra Feldman
Program Assistant
(916) 492-0996
Donna King
Accountant & Senior Program Coordinator (Riverside)
(951) 682-8701
Amber Mace
Deputy Director
(916) 492-0996
Annie Pierce
Project Coordinator (Sacramento)
(916) 492-0996