CCST Adds New Council Member, Senior Fellows

February 23, 2012 |   | Contact: M. Daniel DeCillis

Atul Butte, M.D., Ph.D., is the newest CCST Council Member.

At the February Council meeting, CCST announced its changes in membership for the new year, with Atul J. Butte, M.D., Ph.D. Associate Professor of Medicine (Biomedical Informatics) and Pediatrics at the Stanford Center for Biomedical Informatics Research joining the Council.

“We are pleased to welcome Atul to the Council,” said CCST Council Chair Miriam John. “His research is at the nexus of information technology and advanced medical diagnostics and therapeutics – areas that contribute to both the intellectual and economic vibrancy of the state of California. In combining state-of-the-art approaches from both domains, Atul is helping to create yet another new technical leap forward.”

Butte’s laboratory focuses on solving problems relevant to genomic medicine by developing new methodologies in translational bioinformatics – computer related activities designed to extract clinically actionable information from very large datasets. The field has grown from a need to develop computational methods to work with continually increasing amounts of data.

As part of the Council, Butte joins an assembly of corporate CEOs, academicians, scientists and scholars of the highest distinction. Council members may serve up to two terms of three years each. This year saw one Council member step down after serving six years, David W. Martin, Jr., M.D., who is chairman and CEO of AvidBiotics Corporation, a biotechnology company in San Francisco. Three other Council members agreed to begin a second term: Soroosh Sorooshian, Director of the Center for Hydrometeorology and Remote Sensing at UC Irvine; Pete Worden, Director of the NASA Ames Research Center; and Kathy Yelick, Associate Laboratory Director for Computing Science at Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory.

CCST also welcomed eight people to the ranks of its Senior Fellows, including outgoing Council member David Martin. CCST Senior Fellows work with the Council to provide politically neutral, expert advice and solutions to science and technology-related public policy issues and initiatives. There are currently 131 Senior Fellows, who provide input and expertise into many CCST projects and initiatives.

“Our Senior Fellows have distinguished themselves as Council members and/or significant project contributors,” said John. “They comprise a rich resource of the state’s most accomplished technical talent to draw upon in addressing issues in a timely and expert manner.”

The new CCST Senior Fellows in addition to Martin are:

  • Jeffrey Greenblatt, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
  • Emir Macari, Dean of Engineering, Sacramento State University
  • Mo Qayoumi, President, San Jose State University
  • Bob Sullivan, Dean, Rady School of Management, University of California, San Diego
  • Steve Zornetzer, NASA Associate Center Director
  • Robert Wilkinson, Director, Water Policy Program, University of California, Santa Barbara
  • David Zoldoske, Director, California Water Institute and the Center for Irrigation Technology, California State University, Fresno

Recent Posts

A headshot of Brie Lindsey in business attire with a portrait crop and an outdoor background, with a light blue background surrounding the image.

CCST’s Brie Lindsey, PhD, Hired as Deputy Director at California Ocean Science Trust

A graphic with blue, yellow, and white colors featuring CCST's logo, the blog title, and a photo of Dr. Tepring Piquado speaks at a podium with other notable leaders sitting behind her on stage in front of some NSPN branded materials, to an audience sitting at round tables.

Alumni Profile: Tepring Piquado ’13 Leads National Science Policy Network as First Executive Director

A portrait photo of Sarah Brady in formal wear over a light blue background.

Interim CEO Sarah Brady, PhD, Transitioning to Governor’s Appointment with California Energy Commission

A graphic featuring the headshot of Max in a suite and tie standing in front of the California State Capitol, smiling, with the title of the blog in gold and white font on a blue background, along with CCST's logo and a 15 year anniversary Fellows seal on a white background.

How a Neuroscientist Approaches Housing Policy