CCST Senior Fellow Cicerone Named to Secretary of Energy Advisory Board

August 27, 2010 |   | Contact: M. Daniel DeCillis

CCST Senior Fellow Steven Chu, the Secretary of Energy, was formerly the director of the Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory.

CCST Senior Fellow Ralph Cicerone, President of the National Academy of Sciences, is among those appointed to the newly reestablished Secretary of Energy Advisory Board (SEAB).  The twelve member board, which includes scientists, business executives, academics and former government officials, will serve as an independent advisory committee to Secretary Steven Chu, also a CCST Senior Fellow.

“I am honored that this talented group of individuals has agreed to offer their service to the Department and to the Nation,” said Secretary Chu in a Department of Energy (DOE) press release. “They will be providing their expertise and experience at a critical time for our country as we chart a new course toward a clean energy future.”

The Board was eliminated by the previous administration, but is being reestablished under the Federal Advisory Committee Act. It will provide advice and recommendations to the Secretary on the Department’s basic and applied research, economic and national security policy, educational issues, operational issues and other activities as directed by the Secretary. SEAB, which reports directly to the Secretary of Energy,  was first chartered in 1990. The board is expected to meet twice a year and at other times as needed; subcommittees are also expected to be organized under SEAB.

In addition to Cicerone, the SEAB will include Arthur Rosenfeld, a former member of the California Energy Commission. Other members include:

  • Norman Augustine – Former Chairman and CEO, Lockheed Martin, Former Under Secretary for the Army
  • John Deutch – MIT Chemist, Former Under Secretary of Energy
  • Nicholas Donofrio – Former EVP of Innovation and Technology, IBM
  • Alexis Herman – Former Secretary of Labor
  • Chad Holliday, Jr. – Former CEO of Dupont
  • Michael McQuade – Senior VP, United Technologies Corporation
  • William Perry – Former Secretary of Defense, Stanford University Professor
  • Susan Tierney – Managing Principle, Analysis Group
  • Steven Westly – Managing Partner, Westly Group
  • Daniel Yergin – President, Cambridge Energy Research Associates


Recent Posts

California Policymakers Signify Enduring Value of CCST to the State by Investing in Fellows
The 2022 CCST S&T Policy Fellows standing in front of the California State Capitol dressed in formal attire.
The 2022 CCST Science & Technology Policy fellows in front of the California State Capitol. ...
CCST Workshop Envisions a More Holistic and Inclusive Public Health System Informed by COVID-19 Response
Zoom screenshot of Amber Mace, Harvey Fineberg, and Rohan Radhakrishna on a white background with CCST logo
  SACRAMENTO, Calif.—The California Council on Science and Technology (CCST) hosted a workshop with leading ...
Call for Public Health Perspectives: Forest Health, Wildfire Smoke, and Public Health
Blue Forest and CCST's logos next to each other with an orange banner and white text saying "Seeking Health Perspectives"
The California Council on Science and Technology (CCST) and Blue Forest Conservation are seeking nominations ...
Dr. Ishwar K. Puri Appointed to CCST Board of Directors as USC Representative
A photo of Ishwar Puri in a suit and tie with sunglasses
Dr. Ishwar K. Puri, USC SACRAMENTO, Calif.—Dr. Ishwar K. Puri, Vice President of Research and ...