Facebook Twitter LinkedIn
Board of Directors
Board of Directors
Policy Fellows
Institutes & Affiliates
1130 K Street, Suite 280, Sacramento, CA, 95814-3965, (916) 492-0996
Support CCST


Charles F. Kennel (Board Chair)
Scripps Institution of Oceanography
UC San Diego
Bruce Alberts
UC San Francisco
Jeffrey Armstrong
California Polytechnic State University SLO
Ann Arvin
Stanford University
Bruce B. Darling
National Academy of Sciences
National Research Council
Dori Ellis
Sandia California
Richard C. Flagan
Susan Hackwood (Executive Director)
Charles E. Harper
Jariet Technologies
John C. Hemminger
UC Irvine
Lisa Rossbacher
Humboldt State University
Judith Swain (Council Vice Chair)
National University of Singapore
James Sweeney
Stanford University
Van Ton-Quinlivan
California Community Colleges
Samuel Traina
UC Merced
Eugene Tu
NASA Liaison
Judy Swain, MD

CCST Council Vice Chair
Judy Swain, MD

A*STAR Senior Fellow, Agency for Science, Technology, and Research (Singapore), and Professor of Medicine at Yong loo Lin School of Medicine, National University of Singapore

Dr. Judith L. Swain is currently an A*STAR Senior Fellow of the Agency for Science, Technology and Research (Singapore), and the Lien Ying Chow Professor of Medicine at the Yong Loo Lin School of Medicine, National University of Singapore. Previously she served as the Founding Executive Director of the Singapore Institute for Clinical Sciences within A*STAR.

Prior to coming to Singapore she was the Dean for Translational Medicine and the Founding Director of the College of Integrated Life Sciences (COILS) at the University of California, San Diego. Dr. Swain previously served as Chair of the Department of Medicine at Stanford University and held the Arthur Bloomfield and George E. Becker Professorships there. Prior to her appointment at Stanford, she was the Herbert C. Rorer Professor of Medical Sciences, Professor of Genetics, and Director of Cardiovascular Medicine at the University of Pennsylvania. Dr. Swain received her undergraduate education at the University of California, Los Angeles, and her medical education at the University of California, San Diego.

She trained in Internal Medicine and Cardiovascular Medicine at Duke University. She then joined the faculty at Duke where she became widely known in the field of molecular cardiology, and pioneered the use of transgenic animals to understand the genetic basis of cardiovascular development and disease. Her current research interests are centered on assessing and enhancing human performance in extreme environments. She co-founded a center (OptiBrain) with the goal of optimizing brain resources for performance in extreme environments. This center is collaboration between UC San Diego and the Naval Health Research Center (San Diego).

In Singapore, Dr. Swain serves on the Board of Directors of the National Healthcare Group, and on the Board Committee overseeing the Institute of Mental Health. She also serves on the Governing Council of the Lee Kong Chian School of Medicine, Imperial College/NTU, and on the Academic Oversight Committee of that Council. Dr. Swain has served in a number of national leadership roles in the U.S., including President of the American Society for Clinical Investigation, President of the American Association of Physicians, and an elected member of the Council of the Institute of Medicine. She served on the NIH Director’s Standing Committee on Clinical Research, the NIH National Advisory Research Resources Council and the NRC Commission to evaluate the organization of the National Institutes of Health. She served as a member of the Defense Science Research Council of DARPA, on the Board on Army Science and Technology, and as Chair of the Triennial Army Lifesciences and Medical Laboratory Review for the Assistant Secretary of the Army for Science and Technology. Dr. Swain has served on international advisory committees including those of the Wellcome Trust, the British Heart Association, the UK Medical Research Council, and the Canadian Foundation for Innovation. She is currently a Director of Lexicon Pharmaceuticals and of Avacen, Inc., a member of the SAB for the Wyss Institute for Biologically Inspired Engineering at Harvard, and a member of the Scientific Advisory Committee of the Qatar Biomedical Sciences Institute. She serves or has served as a director or a SAB member for a number of biomedical technology companies, and is co-founder of Synecor, LLC a medical device accelerator. Dr. Swain has been elected to a number of honorary societies including the Association of American Physicians, the American Society for Clinical Investigation, Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, and the Institute of Medicine.

Updated 2/12/16