Password protected areas

Senior Fellows
John H. Seinfeld
Louis E. Nohl Professor of Chemical Engineering, California Institute of Technology

Areas of Interest:

urban and regional air quality, tropospheric chemistry, global climate change

Seinfeld is the Louis E. Nohl Professor and Professor of Chemical Engineering at the California Institute of Technology. He received his Ph.D. in Chemical Engineering from Princeton University and joined the faculty at Caltech in 1967. His honors and awards include the Curtis W. McGraw Research Award, American Society for Engineering Education, 1976; the Allan P. Colburn Award, 1976; the Thirty-Second Institute Lecturer, 1980, of the American Institute of Chemical Engineers; the NASA Public Service Award, 1980; elected membership in the National Academy of Engineering, 1982; the William H. Walker Award, American Institute of Chemical Engineers, 1986; Fellow, Japan Society for the Promotion of Science, 1986; George Westinghouse Award, American Society for Engineering Education, 1987; Special Creativity Award, National Science Foundation, 1988; the Distinguished Alumnus Award, University of Rochester, 1989; Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, 1991; Award for Creative Advances in Environmental Science and Technology, American Chemical Society, 1993; the Fuchs Award, International Aerosol Research Assembly, 1998; the Warren K. Lewis Award, American Institute of Chemical Engineers, 2000; the Nevada Medal, 2001; the Aurel Stodola Medal of the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology, 2008; 2013 elected to the National Academy of Sciences. He is the recipient of honorary doctorates from the University of Patras (Greece), Carnegie Mellon University, and Clarkson University.

Updated 3/31/14

Senior Fellows Roster